Nigella’s coffee and walnut cake (GF)

Standard

hungryhinny

I’ve made a fair few coffee cakes over the years, as it’s my dad’s favourite, but I’ve never actually tried a traditional coffee and walnut because of his aversion to nuts, so when my colleague requested it as one of her favourites I was quite excited to give it a go.

After quite a bit of research I settled on a Nigella recipe, mostly because I was intrigued by the method, which literally involves chucking everything into a food processor and blitzing – could a recipe with no creaming, beating, sifting or folding really produce a light and fluffy sponge?!

I clearly should have had more faith, as this cake turned out beautifully – soft, light, just the right balance of coffee and walnut, and, big bonus, it even held up to using gluten free flour.

This cake received the best reviews I’ve had for anything I’ve baked in…

View original post 344 more words

Leave a Reply

