Rose hip delight

Standard

This weekend, I discovered masses of rosehips ripening on the dog rose bush at the side of our house. I don’t remember there being so many last year, but perhaps I just wasn’t so observant.

The pulp from the rosehip is a great source of vitamin C, beta-carotene, bioflavinoids, calcium, citrates, citric acid, iron malates, malic acid, niacin, phosphorus and vitamins A, B1, B2, E and K, so it seems a shame not to make the most of the harvest in my own garden.

I have been canvassing opinion on what to do with them when I collect the ripe berries, and have had suggestions to makeĀ  tea, jam or syrup (excellent for winter colds). I spoke to my elderly neighbour, who warned me that so many rosehips this early, means that we are in for a hard winter! She also advised me to wait until after the first autumn frost to collect the berries, as the frost will soften them.

Anyone have any tips for making the most of my rose hips? Would love to hear from you if have.

 

3 responses »

  1. Hi there – I have no useful tips about rose hips, but I know that people in Scotland used to make rose hip syrup or jam as a kind of winter tonic. I’ve been a bit perplexed by the lack of them on some of my roses. It has been so relentlessly rainy that I wonder if they have been drowned!

Leave a Reply

