No hearts and flowers – a Valentine’s love story

Standard

It all began so romantically.

Ten years ago today, fed up of being single, I decided to throw caution to the wind and send an anonymous Valentine’s e-card to a colleague at work. I sent it from a hotmail address which didn’t identify me as the sender and waited to see what would happen. I got a response along the lines of thanks and who is this? I wasn’t giving anything away and gave this guy a week to discover my identity, sending him one clue everyday.

Well he followed the trail of clues which led him to me and our first date a week later….and….

Reader, I married him….

I have always wanted to say that line!

Fast forward ten years later, through many, many ups and downs, both huge life-changes and challenges and mundane everyday stuff, and here we are – he in one county, me in another (temporarily parted by work). 

Today there are no hearts or flowers, chocolates or romantic candle-lit dinners. That Valentine’s card and his response was the one and only time we ever did anything quite so romantic. But it doesn’t matter, for I don’t need those things to let me know that he is still my Valentine. He has stood by me through breast cancer, through failed attempts to get pregnant, through two miscarriages and hasn’t managed to drown yet in the river of tears that have been shed in the past few years.  Over and over he shows me the truth of these lines from Victor Hugo

“The supreme happiness in life is the conviction that we are loved – loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves”

So how about you? How will you spend today? Share your Valentine’s love story in the comments below.

14 responses »

  1. What a lovely story 🙂 Happy Valentines Day to you both.
    We never do anything for Valentine’s Day because my birthday is so soon afterwards. So as usual this morning I took my mum shopping. What I wasn’t expecting was to find a man having a fit in a terrible state on the ground.
    I did a first aid course many years ago so I was able to put him in the recovery position and stop his head bleeding.
    After the ambulance went I carried on with my day…..and was completely gobsmacked to arrive home and find a big box of chocolates, a teddy and the nicest card. 😀 It really made my day.

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day, my dearest Marie. Your DH is a wonderful person and you are both very lucky to have found each other.
    My own beau is out (rugby-training) so none of the clichés for me either tonight but he sent me a text in Spanish wishing me a happy one and he cooked me a delicious ‘Valentine’s’ meal on Sat. It’s, indeed, a happy one xx

  3. I love your love story Marie, it’s brilliant … the ‘one clue everyday’. Quite the clever girl 🙂

    Two days ago it was 25 years since we got engaged though that had nothing really to do with Valentine’s day. Like Val above we don’t really celebrate Valentine’s day because it is so near my birthday, mine being just before the 14th. However I did have the table decorated for Valentine’s day. Denis bought chocolates … I bought … a Carbon Monoxide monitor … quite the practical girl 🙂

    I am playing scrabble at the moment with the two men in my life and scoffing from a batch of chocolate brownies made from a lovely recipe from Brownieville Girl’s blog.

    I hadn’t come across that quote from Victor Hugo … I like it.

    Wishing you years filled with love and happiness Marie, you deserve it all.

  4. What a great story! Wishing you both a very Happy Valentine’s Day. Our family celebrates Valentine’s Day in the American way – Valentines for all those whom we love, and usually handmade ones. This year we were away on a trip, and my daughter had a friend along, so I made a Valentine for her as well and she was very pleased. There was chocolate involved as well… even at breakfast!

  5. That’s a lovely story Marie. Who needs flowers or chocolates or any of that stuff? I’ll admit I was bought chocolates but I put the foot down at that because it’s all too commercial and doesn’t mean anything. (Bah humbug that I am). 🙂

    The handmade idea is nice and I used to love the cards that the girls made in school. But now I’m a Grinch! 😉

Leave a Reply

