February Book Club

Standard

I so wanted to like this month’s book choice – Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights, particularly as I have been MIA from the Bloggers Book Club for the last few months. I borrowed it from the library, as to be honest, it is not a book I would choose to buy for myself, but I just couldn’t get into it.

That is not to say that this isn’t in its own way a good book – I can see how this imaginative and original tale would appeal to adult fans of young-adult fiction along the lines of the JRR Tolkien and Harry Potter novels – it’s just this isn’t my thing at all.

I will have to leave it up to Tommy (who suggested this month’s choice) Lorna, Lily, Susan, Marian et al to show me what I am missing.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Marie, I’ve been following all your blogs of late and I hope you’re keeping well. I know you’re going through a difficult time. You seem like such a positive person and I hope that is keeping you going.

    Re the book: I loved it, it had me gripped from the start. I agree with Lorna, if I’d read it when I was 11 I’d have loved it even more!!!

    All the best,
    Marian

  2. Marie, Sorry that you didn’t this book. I wondered when I first started reading about dæmons and Gobblers – was I going to enjoy this book at all but as I got into it, I really started to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

