What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

Standard

This question is one of the latest Plinky Prompts and so it got me thinking of one thing my father always told me when I was a child and upset about some disappointment or other.

“It’s a long road that has no turning” is what he used to say and it was the only piece of advice I ever remember hearing from him.  I think what he was trying to tell me is that the story wasn’t over yet and that life continually changes and unfolds. I have found that has been so true in my life and a lesson that has been repeated over and over again, although I haven’t always believed it at the time.

There is a chinese parable about an old man and his horse. The story often appears in books to illustrate the point that we are not always able to see what is ultimately good or bad in any given situation until some time has passed. While we live life forwards, we can only really understand it backwards.

So how about you, what’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

13 responses »

  1. The best advice I ever heard wasn’t actually something I heard but read. I say it all the time to myself and others. No one can make you feel inferior without your permission—Eleanor Roosevelt

  2. you never miss the water until the river runs dry, whatever you have now be happy about it because you will miss it one day 😦

  3. My favourite bit of advice? It has to be You don’t have to see the whole staircase…just take the first step. Comforts and strengthens me every time to keep going

  4. love your Dad’s bit of advice! My Dad used to say to me when I was overly upset about something: ”It’ll be better by the time you’re married”- which
    didn’t really help then! but now I know what he meant- time soothes( if not completely heals) all wounds.

  5. Oh Susan, that is one of the other things my Dad used to say too! Thanks for reminding me – I had forgotten all about that – though come to think of it, he added before you are TWICE married!

Leave a Reply

