Brown Bread

Standard

 

Nothing will ever beat my mother’s brown bread and there was never any point in asking her for the recipe, as she is of the old I don’t measure anything school of baking, and I haven’t reached the stage in my life, when that works for me. I’ve tried out many recipes and I think I’ve hit on the one that most resembles Mum’s. The only thing is every time I bake it, it seems to turn out different.

Ingredients

  • 350g Wholemeal Flour
  • 25g Wheat Bran
  • 1 tablespoon Brown Sugar (optional)
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Bread Soda (sieved)
  • 1 tablespoon Vegetable Oil
  • 300ml pint Milk
  • 125g Carton Hazlenut Yoghurt
  • Method

    1. Preheat oven to 200°C/400°F/Gas 6. Grease a 900g/2lb loaf tin.
    2. Put wholemeal, wheat bran, sugar, salt and sieved bread soda into a mixing bowl and mix well together.
    3. Add the oil, milk and yoghurt and stir until well blended. Mixture will be quite wet.
    4. Transfer to the prepared tin. I like to sprinkle some linseeds on top.
    5.  Bake for 45 minutes – 1 hour.
    6. Bread is baked when tapped underneath and it has a hollow sound.
    7. Wrap in a clean tea towel and allow to cool.
    2 responses »

    Leave a Reply

    