Pucker up..it’s World Kissing Day

Standard

So today apparently is International Kissing Day. No idea what is behind this, but it seems like a good enough topic for today’s blog post.

When we were small children, my mother used to quote this rhyme to us as we got into our beds at night.

I ran up the door, opened the stairs, said my pajamas and put on my prayers – turned off my bed, tumbled into my light, and all because he kissed me good-night! 

I grew up thinking that a kiss was something powerful, magical and strange. And I suppose in many ways it can be. I still think about those magical, wonderful first kisses with that special someone you were falling in love with… *sigh*

I couldn’t write a post on kissing without writing about my all time favourite film- Cinema Paradiso. Told largely in flashback to childhood years, it tells the story of the return to his native Sicilian village of a successful film director Salvatore for the funeral of his old friend Alfredo, who was the projectionist at the local “Cinema Paradiso”. It is a heartwarming, nostalgic look at one man’s love affair with film, and the story of a very special friendship.

The final scene is my favourite, a touching, tender, poignant montage of screen kisses. The transcendence of this scene is enhanced beautifully by the sublimely gorgeous score by Ennio Morricone. We learned early in the film, that the local priest previews each movie before it is available for public viewing, using the power of his office to demand that all scenes of kissing be edited out.  Following the funeral near the end of Cinema Paradiso, Salvatore receives his bequest from Alfredo: a film reel containing all of the kisses removed from the movies shown at the Paradiso over the years. It’s perhaps the greatest montage of motion picture kisses ever assembled, and, as Salvatore watches it, tears come to his eyes. It is such a moving scene and unless you have a heart made of stone, I defy you not to watch it with a tear in your eye too. And maybe watching it today might inspire you to indulge in some passionate kissing of your own!

A man had given all other bliss,
And all his worldly worth for this,
To waste his whole heart in one kiss
Upon her perfect lips.
~Alfred, Lord Tennyson

 

17 responses »

  1. What a great post. I love this movie too – I’ve watched it so many times I’ve lost count and each time I watch it, I cry. The soundtrack is simply stunning too.

Leave a Reply

