Seared Salmon with Orange and Ginger Glaze

Standard

The beautiful weather we had over the past few days has been such a joy. Today as I write this, the temperature has dropped considerably and the sky is overcast. So I am glad that yesterday evening we managed to eat outside in the last of the sunshine, for this being Ireland, who knows when it will be back.

I cooked some delicious seared salmon with an orange and ginger glaze and served it with some wild rice and salad – healthy and tasty and perfect for a sunny evening. The salmon is seared in sesame oil in a very hot frying pan to start and then transferred into a baking dish in a preheated oven. I drizzled 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and a small glass of white wine over the top before baking for 10 minutes. While the fish was baking, I heated a cup of orange juice with a teaspoon of grated orange zest, 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated root ginger and 3 tablespoons of dry sherry over a medium high heat until it was reduced by half. I then added two slices of orange to the sauce before drizzling it over the fish and for a final flourish I sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. It tasted wonderful, especially in the sunshine and it is such a healthy and simple dish to prepare. Next time the sun is shining, I will definitely be repeating this recipe…roll on summer!

4 responses »

  1. It sounds tasty and simple too. I’ll be making it but to eat indoors, it would need to heat up quite a bit before my garden is warm enough for al fresco dining! 😦

Leave a Reply

