Adventures with baking

Standard

I love baking, but baking doesn’t love me..or rather my fan oven doesn’t. I often end up close to despair with the end result of all my precisely measured out ingredients, carefully creamed /beaten cake mixture, and lined and greased cake tins. I reduce the temperature by 10 degrees as you ought;  I  resist the temptation to open the oven a crack to peep at the cake, remembering the words of  the doyenne of cooking, Delia Smith: “impatient cooks are inviting disaster”. Despite all my careful preparations, my cakes always end up like Humpty Dumpty after his fall..cracked in places.

I give up for a while, but then I just can’t resist the urge to bake another cake for there is nothing like home-baked goods.  So armed once more with Delia’s words  “above all, don’t be daunted. Always remember the good things that go into a home-made cake, and even if the finished product does happen to have sunk a bit, it will still taste delicious”,  I attempted a chocolate Easter cake. Yes, it cracked and it was a bit too dry for my liking, but I covered it with a rich buttercream icing, sprinkled it with some chocolate flakes and popped some mini easter eggs on top and hey presto – my Easter creation.

5 responses »

  1. I’m the same myself. Don’t let the ‘pots’ fool you. But, yes, as long as everything tastes ok, then who cares what it looks like. Anyway, your butter icing and little coloured eggs did the job.

    Love the daffs! They’re a bit few and far between this year. It’s a shame.

  2. The cake looks lovely!

    Did you ever have the oven temperature checked? I know of one cooker where the main oven (Fan) was 10°C hotter than the dial suggested and the small oven was 10°C lower. My own fan oven is on the hot side and I need to reduce the temp by more than the usual 10°C.

    I have my share of disasters and even the Kings & Queens of the kitchen made mistakes when they were starting – they just forget to mention it! 😉

    Happy experimenting,

  3. Well at last, someone fesses up to the vagaries of baking with a fan oven! Thanks for posting and I think Grannymar might have a point there. Cake still looks delish though 😉

Leave a Reply

