Definately the most misspelled word

Standard

Do you remember years ago on the BBC programme “That’s Life”, a regular feature where viewers sent in notices and signs they came across with comic mis-spellings? I always think of it as I pass through a particular Irish town, which proudly advertises a restaurant deal for a “Three Coarse Meal”. I want to stop and tell them, it’s course, not coarse, but I never have. Similarly with the more and more ubiquitous use of an apostrophe in plural words, ie CD’s, DVD’s, menu’s and even pizza’s, which drives me nuts!

A survey revealed recently that”definately”  is the most common spelling blunder in the English language (it should of course be spelled “definitely”). The research found 57 per cent judge other people on their spelling, with 42 per cent admitting they believe people who can’t spell are “thick”. And half blame computer spell-checks for their inadequacies, with one in three pointing the finger at text messaging.

Top ten Misspelt Words

1. Definitely (Definately)

2. Sacrilegious (Sacreligious)

3. Indict (Indite)

4. Manoeuvre (Maneouvre)

5. Bureaucracy (Beaurocracy)

6. Broccoli (Brocolli)

7. Phlegm (Phleghm)

8. Prejudice (Predjudice)

 9. Consensus (Conscensus)

10.Unnecessary (Unecessary)

12 responses »

  1. My initial reaction on seeing the title of this post was oh no, she has spelled definitely wrong and immediately judged you!

  2. I’m thinking of a recent comment by an Irish Industrialist – they immediately ignore CVs with misspellings/poor grammar.

    (I’m almost certain it was the Chief Exec. of Google)

  3. Well, it is one way Lily of weeding out the candidates. I know I had grammar and spelling drummed into me at school, and maybe that doesn’t happen anymore? Even today, I have a grammar guide on my desk at work and Lynnn Truss’ Eats, Shoots, Leaves is a well thumbed companion.

  4. It is the misuse of apostrophes in signs that really gall me. And misuse of your/you’re etc etc

    I would have to stop and tell them about their 3 coarse meal!!

    • Oh this is really my bugbear Lorna..don’t get me started! Pizza’s are on the menu in our local restaurant and I saw a headline in the Limerick Post newspaper about Austrian’s plural!

Leave a Reply

