Nigel Slater’s Wholemeal Apple and Orange Cake

Standard

I am a big fan of Nigel Slater’s cooking and writing style. I love reading his column in the Observer newspaper.  For me he is a food writer who evokes each season so beautifully and all my senses are engaged when I read the descriptions of his recipes. His memoir Toast, the story of his childhood and adolescence told through food, was one of my favourite reads of last year. Yesterday in the Observer he had recipe details for a comforting fish pie and this lovely cake, which I am looking forward to trying out soon.

Wholemeal Apple and Orange Cake

Ingredients

220g butter at room temperature
210g light muscovado sugar
4 eggs
250g wholemeal flour
a lightly heaped teaspoon of baking powder
½ tsp ground cinnamon
200g apples (peeled weight)
100g golden sultanas or raisins
125g orange marmalade
finely grated zest of an orange
Demerara sugar

You will also need a 20cm round cake tin with a removable base, lined with paper.

Method

  • Set the oven at 160C/gas mark 4. Beat the butter and sugar together until light, fluffy and pale coffee-coloured. Meanwhile, lightly beat the eggs with a fork. Sift together the flour, baking powder and cinnamon. Core and roughly chop the apples. They should be in pieces under 1cm square.
  • Toss the chopped apples with the sultanas or raisins. Stir in the marmalade.
  • Add the beaten eggs a little at a time to the creamed butter and sugar, introducing a spoonful of flour if the mixture starts to curdle. Gently but firmly fold in the rest of the flour.
  • Fold in the fruit and marmalade mixture, along with the grated orange zest. Spoon into the prepared cake tin, scatter a fine layer of Demerara over the top and bake for an hour and 15 minutes, or until a skewer comes out moist but without any cake mixture sticking to it. Cool before serving.
11 responses »

  1. Oopps, cooked it and then devoured it all. A rather yummy cake! I hadn’t baked a cake for some time but loved the sound of this one. So much so I was in the kitchen at the earliest opportunity making it. I was not disappointed, but can’t have anymore cake for a couple of months, it was so scrummy!

  2. I haven’t cooked a cake for over 15 years and liked the sound of this one. Even I didn’t mess it up, and it disappeared instantly when I unveiled at work. A delicious cake, and I’m baking another one on my next day off. Enjoy!

  3. Terrific recipe – works well with 3-fruit marmalade as well as traditional.
    Have made it a few times. Always disappears fast.

Leave a Reply

