Mince Pie Traditions

Standard

I love making mince pies at Christmas time – they are just so easy to prepare and who can beat that delicious smell as they come out of the oven. Mince pies are an essential part of Christmas and of course we all know, that they are a favourite food of Santa Claus! 

Mince pies became a regular part of Christmas celebrations as early as the 16th century, when the crusaders returned from the Holy Land with spices, and it was deemed appropriate to celebrate Christ’s birthday with a pie containing spices from his native land. It was important to add three spices (cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg) for the three gifts given to the Christ child by the Magi. Mince pies should traditionally have a star on top, to represent the Christmas Star which led the shepherds and Magi to the baby Jesus in Bethlehem.

Many superstitions have grown up around this Christmas tradition. It is thought lucky to eat one mince pie on each of the twelve days of Christmas (ending with Epiphany, the 6th of January). The mincemeat mixture should only be stirred in a clockwise direction. To stir it anticlockwise is to bring bad luck for the coming year.  Finally, a wish should be made whilst eating your first mince pie of the festive season – I already know what I will be wishing for this year!

7 responses »

  1. I’ve never thought of doing them with the star shape but looking at these, they look fab, so think I might just try adding the star this year.

  2. Such a lot of superstitions! Never heard of any of them. I am not superstitious by nature, but think I could definitely manage the old eat one mince pie a day tradition!

  3. i’ve never given any thought to the tradition of mince pies – just scoffed them! but now that i’ve read this, i found it quite interesting – thanks for posting

  4. I didn’t know all these mince pie traditions. I hope my next year wont be ruined because I stirred the mixture anticlockwise, because I didn’t put stars on top, because I made no wish, because, because …

    Maybe we just need to eat TWO a day for twelve days to balance the lucks! 🙂

    Seriously though, I hope you get your heart’s desire in 2010.

  5. I am smiling at all these tradtions, like Lily, if they are true, I have stored up a whole lot of bad luck for myself in 2010…good thing I don’t believe in superstition so!

Leave a Reply

