Keeping Flowers Fresh

Standard

 daffodil                                   

One of life’s greatest pleasures is a vase of fresh flowers in the home. At the moment, a simple bunch of golden yellow spring daffodils sits on my kitchen window sill, lifting my spirits with their freshness and simplicity.

 

Before placing flowers in a vase I  trim an inch off the stem (any with woody stems, such as roses, should be bashed or cut at a very acute diagonal to maximise the surface area open to the water). I usually add a drop or two of Milton to the water or a sterilising tablet to keep the flowers fresh and change the water every few days and trim the ends of the flowers.  If I am using foliage I won’t fill the vase with water. I use just enough so that the bottom of the stems are immersed. This avoids the water becoming dirty with soggy foliage.

Leave a Reply

