The Amateur Marriage

Standard

anneJust finished reading Anne Tyler’s novel: The Amateur Marriage. This is now one of my all time favourite books – it really resonated with me – a rich and compelling novel about a mismatched marriage spanning fifty years. No Hollywood ending but so true to real life. The characters are so deftly drawn, time and place so evocatively created as Tyler takes the reader on a journey of the marriage of Michael and Pauline Anton, the married couple at the heart of the story. It portrays how love changes over the years and how the characters coped with that change from the heady passion of their youth through the trials and tribulation of raising a family. I enjoyed the narrative device of each chapter representing episodic events in their lives and those of their children and later grandchildren. Some reviewers have written that this novel is depressing but I found it a very accurate description of real life and it certainly made me look more closely at my own relationship, especially when I recognised elements of Pauline’s behaviour in my own!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

