Are you a social media addict?

Standard

social media addictThis is the third post in a row on social media addiction! A friend sent me a link today to a a ten point plan to help deal with social media addiction (via thoughtpick.com)

I know that my addiction started during the summer when I had plenty of time on my hands and was grieving a pregnancy loss. Reaching out online to others who seemed to care helped me feel less alone in my grief and seemed to provide the distraction I needed. When my friends and family in “real life” had tired of listening to me, I could always find someone online who seemed to understand. Add to this the fact that part of my job actually involves social media utilisation and don’t need to find an excuse to get my hit.

Read the post here and let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. This post was very timely for me today. I am begining to question if I have developed an addiction to Facebook – so I have been given lots to think about here.

  2. Interesting. While I can see how easy it is to become addicted, I think we shouldn’t throw the baby out with the bathwater. FB and Twitter have actually brought a lot of plusses into my own life for which I am grateful

  3. wow – hadn’t really given it much thought before but I see myself in some of these signs – like tweeting first and last thing each day. never thought of it as a problem before, but begining to look at things quite differently now

Leave a comment